PDA

View Full Version : H-beam..I-beam

Fired Up
07-13-2004, 09:15 PM
Which is considered the stronger rod? Assuming both are steel is there one that is considered "better"? I don't know enough about rod design or dynamics.

BGMAN203
07-13-2004, 09:21 PM
I think H beams are stronger.

shaun
07-13-2004, 09:30 PM
This may not be true and i could be misinformed, i'm no expert but if i recall correctly H beam rods are suppose to be better for FI builds where I beams are better for NA applications.

BGMAN203
07-13-2004, 09:35 PM
When you say FI build, what do you mean?? Fuel Injection??
I assume when you say NA build you mean carbs and not blowers, turbos or NOS?

Infomaniac
07-14-2004, 04:08 AM
I cannot speak for the design, but the stronger rods are "I" beam.
Would have to ask the mfg's why they choose "I" beams for the stronger ones.

cstraub
07-14-2004, 05:56 AM
I-beams are stronger. I have had this discussion with French Grimes and Kirk Jager on different occasions. It has to due to the transfer of stress to the pin area as the rpm increases. Both say H-beams are fine for lower rpm, under 6000, and are a fine choice. For blown and turbo applications they both have said an I-beam would be the rod of choice.
Chris

superdave013
07-14-2004, 06:02 AM
Are my Carrillos are H or I beams?
What ever they are they are some tuff mofo's. I think I'll keep 'em.

INEEDAV
07-14-2004, 06:45 AM
I thought that the h-beam rods were generally rated for more horsepower than the I-beam. Now I am confused:confused: .

cstraub
07-14-2004, 07:30 AM
Most of what the general racing population sees is the forged I-beam stuff, and yes it is rated lower. When you get into the billet stuff is where the I-beams get the 1000 HP ratings or more.