PDA

View Full Version : HELP - anchoring question

yvette
07-16-2004, 06:23 AM
I am new to boating. After I set the anchor and tie it to the boat, where should I put the float/buoy? Should I attach it to the anchor rope or does it go on a separate line with a weight just to mark the spot? Please give specific procedures if you can. I know this may be a dumb question so please be patient as I am trying to learn the ropes. Thanks.

dicudmore
07-16-2004, 06:51 AM
prob attach to anchor line via tie up for convenience ;)

yvette
07-16-2004, 07:06 AM
but then you would have to take it when yo take the boat out so your spot cannot be marked??? how do u guys do it?

Big_Gunz_
07-16-2004, 07:17 AM
I have my buoy tied to my anchor line by a 1' rope and a metal clip. I attach it to the bow tie using the metal clip. When I leave my spot, I unclip the buoy and anchor. When I return, I grab the buoy, reclip the metal clip to the bow tie.
Hope this helps

redneckgirl
07-16-2004, 07:21 AM
We have a snap on the anchor rope that snaps to the bow hook...we attach "snap" the bouy to the anchor line at the snap. Like the picture in my sig below.

Lightning
07-16-2004, 08:25 AM
I have two floats on my anchor -
one with a 3 ft rope attached to the anchor <- so people know their is an anchor in the water and don't kick it.
the other is attached to where the clip for the line is so I know where it is if I leave and come back.

yvette
07-16-2004, 09:10 AM
how long is your anchor line?

Lightning
07-16-2004, 09:11 AM
Originally posted by yvette
whoa! easy there, that's a little personal don't ya' think.

Big_Gunz_
07-16-2004, 09:46 AM
Originally posted by yvette
My anchor chain is 20', and I have a 10' rope with a metal clip on the end of that. At the end of the rope is where I clip my buoy and than to the boat.

LOANER
07-16-2004, 09:47 AM
...10'-12' of line with a loop for the bouy and clip for the bow
Anyone have a particular anchor they like?