PDA

View Full Version : raising your lower unit for more performance?

YOUNG
07-26-2004, 02:15 AM
I am pretty new to the whole boating thing. I have been very serious into the off road with rockcrawling and have never owned a boat until this year. I have been reading in several magazines and seen in catalogs where you can buy spacers to raise or lower your lower unit for more performance. My boat is a 99 Baja Boss Hammer with a MPI 7.4 and a Bravo one lower unit. Any answers or suggestions on this would be a big help. I have been wanting to squeeze as much oerformance out of my boat that I can with out really doing anything to the motor(cast pistons) and this is one of the things that I was wondering about. What actual part of the lower unit does this raise or lower? Are there for sure MPH gains or acceleration gains? Thanks Bryan

Havasu Hangin'
07-26-2004, 05:27 AM
I think you are talking about IMCO lower units?
For top end speed, the higher you can run the propshaft (relative to the bottom of the boat, or "X" dimension), the less outdrive you will be dragging in the water, and, in theory, more top speed.
Normally, to accomplish this, you would have to re-glass the transom, and cut a new hole (higher up on the transom) along with raising the engine mounts.
IMCO makes bolt-on lower units that raise the propshaft in 1" increments, so no need to change the engine location if you want to change the "X" dimension (for example, a 1" shorter lower unit means the propshaft moves up 1").
Having said that, they are expensive. Also, there are usually handling tradeoffs (such as prop blowout out of the hole and in hard turns), which can make for a not-so-fun boat to drive.
You may want to talk to someone who has done it first, before you spend the money.

HP350SC
07-26-2004, 07:26 AM
Originally posted by Havasu Hangin'
I think you are talking about IMCO lower units?