PDA

View Full Version : somethin to thnk about when you are at the fuel dock

gramps
07-27-2004, 07:01 PM
this is one of the gas docks at Powell (I think it WAS Bullfrog).
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v113/hwgramps/c11.jpg

Dr. Eagle
07-27-2004, 07:01 PM
Originally posted by gramps
this is one of the gas docks at Powell (I think it WAS Bullfrog).
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v113/hwgramps/c11.jpg
I told him not to smoke that cigarette while he was filling the boat...

Big_Gunz_
07-27-2004, 07:09 PM
Ouch, some insurance company won't be happy about that. Hope no one got hurt.

aztommy
07-27-2004, 08:08 PM
wish they would call me im a loss consultant

NuckinFutz
07-27-2004, 10:59 PM
That was Bullfrog last summer. I can't remember the details, but do know it was there.

rrrr
07-28-2004, 06:22 AM
I was at the pumps a couple of years ago across from a houseboat that had just fueled up. It had a dead battery, so the marina guy opened the big clamshell doors on the rear deck to access the engine area.
He climbed in with one of those booster thingies, and a few seconds later there was a huge explosion. The guy literally flew into the air about six feet and landed headfirst on the dock. The boat was burning like h*ll, and I was screaming at my wife and friends (who had small kids with them) to run. I started my boat and moved away from the dock about a hundred feet.
Fortunately there was one of those giant fire extinguishers sitting right there, the kind with about 25' of hose and big spoked iron wheels. Someone grabbed it and knocked the fire out.
Turns out the vent line from the fuel tank had broken off at the tank and there was gas in the bilge. The guy that flew out of the boat had some minor burns and a separated shoulder.
Since that episode I always try to get gas when I'm the only one at the pumps, and if that's not possible, I watch the other guy very closely. Dunno about you guys, but I have a pretty low opinion of most other boaters and their brainpower.