PDA

View Full Version : where do I start??

markt111
07-30-2004, 07:58 PM
I'm fairly new to outboards, I have everything running good now and I'm starting to get familiar with these animals. I have twin 1994 250 HP Johnson V8 Ocean pro's on a 30' center console, not a 80,90 or 100 MPH boat but low 60's GPS in any conditions, I would like to see a couple more MPH on the high end, have what I believe are the right all around props for my use on the boat now (Mirage plus) I will send them out after the summer for a little tweaking. What can be done to this motor before pulling the heads to raise compression? and how much will it help? would removing the airbox(style with screening in it) help, what about exhaust mods? are they worth it or just louder? I have researched a lot of old post and there wasn't much talk on V8s and what I saw wasn't specific, any input greatly appreciated

Kim Hanson
07-30-2004, 08:34 PM
Originally posted by markt111
I'm fairly new to outboards, I have everything running good now and I'm starting to get familiar with these animals. I have twin 1994 250 HP Johnson V8 Ocean pro's on a 30' center console, not a 80,90 or 100 MPH boat but low 60's GPS in any conditions, I would like to see a couple more MPH on the high end, have what I believe are the right all around props for my use on the boat now (Mirage plus) I will send them out after the summer for a little tweaking. What can be done to this motor before pulling the heads to raise compression? and how much will it help? would removing the airbox(style with screening in it) help, what about exhaust mods? are they worth it or just louder? I have researched a lot of old post and there wasn't much talk on V8s and what I saw wasn't specific, any input greatly appreciated