PDA

View Full Version : cam selection

IGDOG
11-08-2000, 08:20 AM
Anyone have any tips on cam selection for a 468 chevy with big oval ports,strip dominator intake,holly 750, and a stinger ignition?Thanks.

GlastronGuy
11-09-2000, 07:56 PM
What compression and exhaust are you running?

MoJetBoPar
11-10-2000, 05:06 AM
I'm new to the Jet Boat hobby but there is a lot to be considered when choosing your cam specs. Like powerband (rpm limit) for top speed, which is dependent on the impeller you have. And unlike cars, horsepower is not necessarily what your striving for, it's max torque to move the hull thru the water. So my gut instinct is to err on the coservative side with some thing in the 235 to 240 duration @ .050 with all the lift available for a cam in that range.

GlastronGuy
11-10-2000, 08:45 AM
Mo, you better read this: http://www.concentric.net/~Jjlee/TheBiz/final.shtml

IGDOG
11-11-2000, 08:46 AM
Exhaust is Bassett thru transom headers,the comp. ratio is in the 8.5/1 neighborhood.

GlastronGuy
11-11-2000, 09:49 AM
As Mo said, you want to run in the powerband that your impeller allows you to spin too. You generally can go a little bigger (cam) in a jet boat than you can in a car. That's because there is less concern with a decent idle. Another thing with a jet boat is the powerband itself. When you "floor" a car. the RPM's gradually increase. With a jet boat you are at max RPM almost instantly. Depending on what you are trying to build, a hot rod or a family boat, that is what will help you choose a cam. The range Mo spoke of is good for a family boat and you will get a decent idle. A hot rod will need a bigger cam. If you want some good info from some hobbists like myself and some pro, such as racers and builders go here. http://members.nbci.com/***boats/realjetboats.html The "Jet head message board" is full of good advise.

IGDOG
11-11-2000, 07:43 PM
Thanks Glastron Guy, I'll let you know what I come up with.I'll check the site too.

IGDOG