PDA

View Full Version : Jacuzzi WJ

gcostelow
05-16-2001, 07:19 AM
I have a 77 20.5" Omega with a WJ pump. I have been told that the WJ is the one to have if you end up with a Jacuzzi. Why? I have also heard that there are shops that can install a Berkley impeller in a WJ for better performance. In addition to performance, I would think that it would make replacing the impeller easier and cheaper. If anyone could give me some additional information on this, I would appreciate it. Also, what is it that makes a Jacuzzi such a poor design? The YJ is an Axial flow. Is the WJ the same? I am new to the sport of custom boats. Any advice and information is appreciated.

waterfn
05-16-2001, 08:47 AM
I have a 75 18.5 omega with a wj, the wj is a mixed flow the same as the berkley's. unless your pump is in real poor shape I would'nt even think of tring to change it to anything else. Hot boat maq. did an article on using a Berkley impeller in a wj, it was expensive to do and the gain was not that great for a lake boat. Dan

Eric
05-16-2001, 09:06 AM
There is a big difference between the Jacuzzi WJ and the Jacuzzi yj/eagle. The WJ is a mixed flow pump and the yj/eagle is an axial flow. I've heard of the Berk impeller conversion but don't know anything about it. I would call Jack at MPD (949-631-2040) and have him work on the Jacuzzi impeller. Also if you're running a place diverter you should have the nozzle removed from the WJ bowl.
Eric
[This message has been edited by Eric (edited May 16, 2001).]

waterfn
05-16-2001, 10:04 AM
Eric are you talking about removing the end piece that is on the end of the pump bowl on the wj pump? I have never heard of that. I have a place diverter on it and they never said do that, Greg Shoemaker never said that either. The wj pump has a nozzle plug that if removed will open up the pump bowl. Let me know who told you to cut of the end piece of the bowl. If it helps I'll try it.

gcostelow
05-17-2001, 05:17 AM