PDA

View Full Version : Stringer Talk.....

Old Charger
08-01-2001, 11:14 PM
Hey, so what's the deal with full length vs partial stringer setups.
What are the advantages of full length? Why did most of the boat manufactures in the 70's even bother with partial stringer setups?
Is it possible to retro fit my ride with full length?

Heatseeker
08-02-2001, 04:35 AM
I'm no expert, but the obvious advantage is overall strength. When I was shopping for my jet boat, I was told by people in the know to only consider a full stringer boat. I've heard a couple of stories about pumped engines tearing out of partial stringer boats. That would really ruin your weekend!!!

Hondo Jet
08-02-2001, 05:05 AM
I have a Hondo with full length stringers and the motor mount holes in the stringers are enlarged from to much horse power. So what I did was take aluminum angle and run it about 6'down the stringers this really beefs them up. This trick would work on any stringer full length or not.

okie dave
08-02-2001, 05:13 AM
just my opinion but tunnell hulls have the benefit of four full lenth stringers in the shape of the hull as far as stiffening of the length of the boat goes. you need something to mount the motor on but not necessarily ruin the floorspace of the boat by having something else to trip over when standing up in a crowded boat. aluninum rail type motor mounts bolted to the short or long stringers is a given.

Blown509Liberator
08-02-2001, 05:40 AM
Like okie dave said...
on a V hullit adds strength and helps stop a hook/rocker from forming on you hull

custom-cruiser
08-02-2001, 06:40 AM
Production boat builders in the 70's (Tahiti ect..)just wanted to crank out boats the quicker and cheaper the better so quarter length stringers helped that process along.
True custom boat builders that were genuinely