PDA

View Full Version : jets and steps

glassdave
08-23-2004, 09:45 AM
Hi guys. i havent been on in a looooong time. you guys helped me out with a 23.5 foot Mirage daycruiser project i had several years ago. got me a new project i'm thinking about doing. i have been racing a 24 foot Reindl Batboat(see pic) for a few years now and am thinking about building some new ones here in ohio. as a pet project i was thinking about laying up a very light carbon fiber/kevlar hull and droping in a jet and big block just for fun. my question is does anybody have expierance using a pump on a hull that is steped. i have a local friend that is a ace jetboat guy (JetTech i think is his company) and has been building bigtime drag jets for a while. just took a 100+ mph ride with him sunday in one of the "pleasure boats" he built. i'm hoping he will help me with the details as his knowledge and rigging is second to none. anyway i just thought i would put the question out on a forum and see if anyone else tried to put a jet behind steps. thanks in advance all.

glassdave
08-23-2004, 09:47 AM
batboat pic

glassdave
08-23-2004, 10:00 AM
heres some pics of when we blueprinted the bottoms last winter

glassdave
08-23-2004, 10:15 AM
oh by the way we have already discussed a major rework of the bottom for this project so any suggestions on what to change or where to start would be greatly appreciated. i have even considered building a one-off hull without steps altogether but would like to keep them if possible. thanks again guys

LVjetboy
08-23-2004, 10:17 AM
I'm no expert but pumps like clean water. So I suppose how well it works depends on how far back from the step the intake is located, or if there's a center pod or section leading up to the intake that's step free and/or slightly lower than the out board stepped surfaces. What's your speed goal?
jer

glassdave
08-23-2004, 10:28 AM