PDA

View Full Version : v-10 vs desiel

cc322
08-26-2004, 05:27 PM
I have had my on on the f 250 trucks for some time and was just wondering what everyone's 02 are on the v10 or the desiel,. So far what I have found out is that the desiel's are about 4 to 6 grand more, the question is it worth it? The deisel is more money to keep up than the gas and it has a higher up front cost, and from what I have been seeing latley is that deisel is more per gallon? Keep in mind that I will not use it as a daily driver I have a co truck, just on weekend's and river trips. I hear alot of kudos for the desiel and the v10 what are your thoughts??

Tinkerer
08-26-2004, 06:28 PM
I have the CHEVY diesel - My friend had the same truck as mine only with the 454
he got 10 MPG I get 17 with 410 gears
I get 11.25 MPG pulling 12,000 lbs
It all depends what you want to do with it and how many miles that you drive.
With my boat it wasn't an option. The gas engine just wouldn't pull my rig for very long before it said enough.

N2Lake
08-26-2004, 06:28 PM
I went without a diesel for 35 months, I won't being doing that anymore! However in your situation is uniqe in that it won't be a daily driver. Buy a diesel and own it forever, my .02.

PHX ATC
08-26-2004, 07:31 PM
I've got 2 diesels and will never go back.
Better mileage, better smelling fuel, better towing ability and performance.
It's whatever you want, as long as you like it.
Diesel trucks...we work harder so you don't have to. :rollside:

Jordy
08-26-2004, 08:25 PM
I'll never buy another truck that's gas unless it's some 50's or 60's kind of hot rod potential.