PDA

View Full Version : Tahiti jet baot

harlyfan
07-06-2001, 04:06 PM
I am looking at a 19 ft 1979 Tahiti jet boat powered by a 460 with a panther jet pump. Is any one familiar with this particular style of boat? If so, is there any good or bad areas to look at? What should I be able to expect for performance, the engine does not appear to be too modified. I am new to the jet boat scene, so any points would be of help.
Thanks, Jim

Rivertoys_com
07-06-2001, 04:27 PM
I don't think my 18' Hawaiian is too different from that boat. One thing I didn't know to look for is a soft floor. Esp under the driver's seat. I had to replace the floor not long after buying mine (I'd have still bought it but it's a good thing to check). I also have a 460 but it's coupled to a Berk. I now like the 460. I was really a chevy guy before getting this boat, but the 460 has proved to be a good motor. My 460 is pretty strong and very tight (there are photos & specs on my website: http://www.rivertoys.com/gallery/1976H.html). I get very good performance out of it. It's run 68 on GPS in less than ideal conditions. Hope that helps a bit. http://www.goldenplasma.f2s.com/forum/smilies/happy45.gif Jason
[This message has been edited by Rivertoys_com (edited July 06, 2001).]
[This message has been edited by Rivertoys_com (edited July 06, 2001).]

harlyfan
07-06-2001, 04:43 PM
Jason, thanks for the reply. When I look at this boat I'll be sure to check the floor for rot. For some reason I was thinking that it would have a fiberglass floor, I don't know why I was thinking that. I guess because my Sidewinder ski boat has a fiberglass floor. Like you, I am a die-hard Chevy fan, and I do not know anything about the 460 Fords. ( I do wish that I would have paid more attention to how I spelled boat on my original posting )
Thanks again Jim

Cas42
07-06-2001, 08:37 PM
Harly,