PDA

View Full Version : Paging Kachina Ken

sigepmock
09-20-2004, 01:09 PM
oops wrong guy,
The fuel pump in my truck is not putting out the required pressure at high rpm's so it needs to get replaced. I have been quoted $609 installed from the dealer does this sound correct? And should it be dying already? Only 48000 miles on the truck.
03 2500HD 6.0L
Thanks,
Chris

Kachina26
09-20-2004, 01:24 PM
I don't think Ken is in the car business. I am a GMC tech, those pumps are typically around $300 or so just for the part. We get about $270 to install and then add a fuel filter for about $50, and that's about right. Have you replaced the fuel filter before?

sigepmock
09-20-2004, 01:47 PM
Sorry Kachina26,
You're the guy I was looking for. Sorry Ken. :frown:
Yes I have replaced the filter before and I actually tested the fuel pressure about 9 months ago before I installed the Whipple and it was fine but now it sounds like the pump didn't like the extra load that was put on it to keep up with the supercharger. Just wanted to see if the price was in the right ballpark and if you know of any issues with the pumps. Thanks for your help.
Chris

Kachina26
09-20-2004, 01:53 PM
I doubt that your whipple had any affect on the pump. I might question the findings of your mechanic. Most fuel pumps on newer vehicles fail or run, low pressure is rarely a concern. A dirty mass air flow sensor,(contaminated by an over oiled KandN filter) can mimic a bad fuel pump including setting a lean code. Make sure your guy checked pressure is all I'm saying, but he sounds fair on the price.
Hope this helps.

sigepmock
09-20-2004, 02:29 PM
Thanks Kachina26,