PDA

View Full Version : Newbie ? What engine for the jet?

hydrostream'n
09-25-2004, 09:19 AM
I'm looking into one of the 22' custom boats like Ultra, Laser, Lavey, etc. It's going to be a jet and I'd like to be in the 60mph range to start. What engine should I be getting for the most bang for the buck and future go fast add-ons? I don't have to have EFI since I'm not in Calif (I'm in PA), but if thats the way to go I will. So far it looks like the boat companies are selling the 496 or the 502 for jet applications, but I have no background on these motors (sorry, been an outboard guy most of my life). I don't have to go Mercury Marine, custom builds are ok for me. Any input and advice would be much appreciated. I'm also headed to the book store for that book by Dennis Moore on BBC marine engines, but I don't know if it covers applications for Jets. Thanks again for all the help and please don't hold my east coast location against me :rollside:

hydrostream'n
09-25-2004, 09:21 AM
forgot a question, will all these type of custom boat companies allow me to put my choice of power in the boat, or do I need to pick from their catalog of engines?

Some Kind Of Monster
09-25-2004, 10:21 PM
I am guessing you are looking for a new boat and not a classic? A 22 foot jet is a big boat. You aren't going to see 60mph with a stock motor.

hydrostream'n
09-26-2004, 05:52 AM
I do realize it's probably not going to go 60 out of the box, but I saw this review from ***boat about the 22' Ultra Stealth:
"absolutely one of the most fun boats to drive of the 18 we tested. That’s saying something, for a boat that didn’t even break 60 miles an hour (57.5 at 4, 800 rpm)"
I hope to be close out of the box based on this review, and even faster when I get crazier with the motor down te road.
I guess my questions are...
Will all the custom built motors out there work with a jet?