PDA

View Full Version : blower shop intercooler

delirious
10-24-2004, 03:37 PM
has anyone used this intercooler and how to run the water from jet boat

MudPumper
10-24-2004, 04:09 PM
From a Jet, tap off the pump and run through a pressure reducing regulator before the cooler, or if you have a rideplate mount a pickup on the plate and run to the cooler.

revndave
10-24-2004, 06:26 PM
I just bought a new innercooler from board member J540(John).Nice piece,no regulator needed.I run an offshore pick up on my ride plate.When you connect to jet it will get sand in it. :frown:

Blown_Rob
10-26-2004, 10:02 AM
just run the jet water and be smarter than the intercooler run an filter inline to keep fine sand out ...and dont run it off your ride plate cause you need to keep it cool for those long idles thru the no wake zones ive been running the cooler for 3 years now also run all the water thru the intercooler first then into your motor it helps bring the engine temp up some .... P.S. i am on my 2nd intercooler from J540 :umm: first one broke around the inlet flooded the motor $700.00 :yuk:

hellman2u
10-26-2004, 11:35 AM
I welded a -12 to my berk JG on the opposite side of the pump from the water outlet for the motor , ran -12 lines in and out with a ball valve to regulate flow before entering the cooler. with it set up off the jet , water is always flowing thru the cooler when I'm on the holding rope. 1977 Eliminator sprint 1071 intercooled tall deck chev .CDBA # 439 Howler

Unchained
10-27-2004, 04:09 AM
. P.S. i am on my 2nd intercooler from J540 :umm: first one broke around the inlet flooded the motor $700.00 :yuk:
Ouch, I was just thinking how nice those units looked and how easy the slide in mounting would be.
It seems like read that those were supposed to be pressure tested to like 200 psi.
I guess I better just stick with my homemade core.
I still have'nt had any problems with it after two seasons.
I bought it for $ 50. it was a bus heater core.