PDA

View Full Version : Dead Cylinders

Taylorman
11-21-2004, 08:18 PM
Today i discovered that i have two cylinders that are dead at idle.Number 1 and 3 are no worky. Basically i noticed that the left exhaust sounded different from the right. Its obvious that the left side of the engine is not firing on all 4 holes. When i would rev it up it would clear up. My buddy said he thinks its either the carb or the valve not adjusted right. I switched plugs and plug wires around and same thing. The engine has been not been run most of the summer and the carbs have been sitting. I have dual carbs on a tunnel ram. Im thinking it may be the left side of the front carb not getting fuel to 1 and 3 cylinders. My second thought is rocker arms not adjusted right. Could this cause my problem. I just put on a new set of roller rockers. This is my first time dealing with adjustable rocker arms. I think i installed them and adjusted them correct. Adjusted them till no slack and then another 1/2 turn. Im going to readjust the valves and see it that does anything. If not, i will pull the carbs and go through them. Any other possible solutions would be appreciated.

Squirtin Thunder
11-21-2004, 09:12 PM