PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade To 4 Blade Prop?

sleek
12-04-2004, 05:41 PM
i currently have a powerquest laser 27 footer with a 454 mag. i run a mirage plus 21p prop and was considering changing to a 4 blade bravo 1 or revolution4. any info or suggestions? the mirage plus that i was running has some light damage to the cup area of the prop and i want to atleast get the one i have fixed so i thought i might save the money and go for a new one. any advantages of drawbacks to switching?

mike37
12-04-2004, 07:10 PM
I'm not a prop expert
but you will see a better hole shot with a 4blade
and a little loss in top speed
it is passable for you to see a better top speed
with the 4blade if your slip ratio on the 3blade is hi

TIMINATOR
12-05-2004, 08:36 PM
Typically if the "X" dimension is high, the boat will go faster, if it's lower, it will probably slow it down. Take a pic of it from the rear with the drive in the neutral position and measure it too and post it here. The more info that you post, the better answers you will get. TIMINATOR

Tahiti350
12-06-2004, 03:23 AM
X dimension is how deep the drive sits in retation to the botom of the hull? If so, how can I move it, and how much would be suggested. Can't get pic's or measure as I am out of country, boat is in Pacific NW. Will be home in mid-Jan. Running a 20' Tahiti with SBC/OMC 800 (trimmable) that uses the rubber boot in the transom so should have some leeway. Can I just shim the motor and drive mounts up (thinking about building a rail mount like the V-drives use)? What kind of gaines are possible with 1" less "X", as the boot should give me that much without streching it? Always looking for a little more SPEED, and better handling.
GaryB> Tahiti 350

Essex502
12-06-2004, 12:25 PM