PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Needs Help IDing a Boat and Help in General!!

bigkahuna327
12-07-2004, 08:16 PM
I just traded my rail buggy for this jet boat that I know nothing about. I am relatively new to the boating and jet boat scene and could use some help. The boat has a rotten floor and floatation. I've ripped all of it out, and took the engine out for a good cleaning and checkup. It's got a 403 Olds with a Berekley Jet on the back.
I know nothing about the make, model, or year of this boat and needs some help from experts like yourselves. From what I've seen on the boards, I believe it may be a Weirdt boat, but I can not find the HIN anywhere on the boat.
Can anyone help me out with the location of the HIN number, Info on the boat, and where I might could get some pour in floatation. I'm in my last semester of my mechanical engineering program and would like to get this finished over the winter before I graduate.
Check out the pictures below:
http://www.clemson.edu/~owensc/dragboat.jpg
http://www.clemson.edu/~owensc/backofboat.jpg
http://www.clemson.edu/~owensc/frontofengine.jpg
Whatca think?

Mrs CP 19
12-07-2004, 08:23 PM
You might try posting this in Just Jets. No clue what it is, but they are a knowledgable bunch. Good Luck. Jill

moneysucker
12-07-2004, 09:02 PM
Definately post in just jets. As far as the ID of the boat I have no idea it is beyond the realm of boats in my brain. Are you sure that isn't a 455 olds? The 455 is a very common motor for jets and would help you a lot in getting marine parts. For flotation foam, I would not install any. The subject has been discussed in great detail on just jets. A lot of people are using a truck tire tube under the bow instead of foam. Foam tends to absorb water over time and add weight. I curse all the boat owners that have added foam to the hulls that I have owned. Do a search on Flotation and you will get more than enough info. Good luck.

Mandelon
12-07-2004, 09:23 PM