PDA

View Full Version : I'm cookin' chicken and listening to the Beach Boys

rrrr
12-08-2004, 08:43 PM
I've been doing some cooking tonight, and there is a big chicken roasting in the convection oven with carrots and potatoes, along with chopped garlic, onions, green olives, mushrooms, and a bunch of spices.
So while this has been going on I'm listening to the Beach Boys "Sounds of Summer", released in 2003. All my favorites are on this CD. Those of you that grew up in SoCal prolly don't know the effect this music had on everyone else around the country.
I imagined California as the Promised Land, and my first visit when I was 17 met all my expectations. Cripes, I thought I was gonna go into convulsions on Newport Beach looking at the girls. :D
Not only that, I am a sorta a musician, and admire Brian Wilson very much. His talent is apparent, and like some who have that talent he struggles with mental issues. The story of the Wilson brothers along with Al Jardine and Mike Love is very compelling. Of course you can't forget Carol Kaye, who played bass on all their recordings. Glen Campbell also did a lot of session work, and toured with the band when Brian was incapacitated with his mental illness.
It's sad that Dennis Wilson lost his battle with substance abuse and drowned next to his boat. Carl Wilson died from cancer in 1998, and so the only family member left is the musical genius Brian.
So my chicken is almost done. I'm listening to "In My Room", which always takes me back 35 years ago and my own teenage angst.
The Beach Boys are cool.

LVJAKAZ
12-08-2004, 08:55 PM
Well...have a nice trip down memory lane and enjoy your dinner :) :)

MsDrmr
12-08-2004, 09:05 PM
used to listen to the beach boys all the time growin up, I can imagine the effect they had on the contry folk. I have gotten a bit sick of em over the last few years and don't listen to them much..they are a phase band to me, listen for a while, avoid for a while :squiggle: :rolleyes:

Kachina26