PDA

View Full Version : Why aren't the props on the front of the outdrive?

Havasu Hangin'
12-14-2004, 07:30 PM
http://www.highperformancecars.com/hhangin/volvo_penta_ips_side.jpg
http://www.highperformancecars.com/hhangin/volvo_penta_ips_cutaway.jpg
Where's RD?

RiverOtter
12-14-2004, 07:31 PM
Bet you'd need a helluva trim pump for that drive. :idea:

Dr. Eagle
12-14-2004, 07:35 PM
Where's RD?
I bet he's programming the CNC machine as we speak... :)

coolchange
12-14-2004, 08:09 PM
Looks like more of a "Down 'n outdrive"

al cole'holic
12-14-2004, 08:18 PM
Where's RD?
:D

BADBLOWN572
12-14-2004, 09:31 PM
I remember a debate about which is better a while back. If I recall engineers say that it is actually better if the prop is on the front of the drive versus on the back. Something to do with clean water which will reduce prop slipage and cavitation. I am not an engineer so what do I know. I do know that the prop is 99% of the time on the front of an airplane pulling the air so it would make sense.

RiverDave
12-14-2004, 09:34 PM
HH, don't be putting posts up that make sense.. LOL It doesn't become you.. :D
RD

ROZ
12-14-2004, 09:50 PM
:notam: :cool:

mbrown2
12-14-2004, 10:04 PM
For low torque situations maybe it works...or if you have something (the hull to break up the water in front of it maybe....but most high speed outboard applications in a true tunnel setup (ie: Skater 21 with single ob), cause a tremendous amount of pressure on the lower unit; enough to break them...
Can't imagine a high speed outdrive with props in front of the skeg to break up the water......
But I am no engineer :coffeycup

Ziggy
12-14-2004, 10:09 PM
While you're at it, you may as well put a housing around the prop and direct the flow via a nozzle---wouldn't that be ingenious :rolleyes: :notam: :D :D

RiverDave
12-14-2004, 11:29 PM