PDA

View Full Version : TPI Vette Eng Help PLEASE

Tow Guy
12-22-2004, 05:49 PM
Hey People I've Got A Stumper For Myself:
I Have A Tuned Port Motor In A Street Rod And It Loses Fuel Pressure With The Key Off......The Plugs Look Ok Not Rich But Not Too Lean I Think???
When I First Turn The Key On-Fuel Pump On Press Goes To Approx 30psi
After About 30 Seconds The Pressure Drops To 20 psi
After About 1 min The Pressure Is 10 psi
After 2 min The Pressure is 0
While Running The Pressure Seems To Be Around 15 psi
WTF :( :(
I Guess This Is Probably Why It Is Hard To Start After Sitting A While
When It Finally Starts It Seems To Run Like The Timing Is A Little Off But When I Hit The Pedal It Goes Like Hell!!!!
Any Suggestions Would Be Appreciated.......Thank's In Advance...

FryJet
12-22-2004, 06:42 PM
Hmmmmm........seems like it could be a bad regulator or a bad injector causing the presure to bleed off. Im no expert but thats what I would go for. Good luck.
F.J.

WUTWZAT
12-22-2004, 06:44 PM
This sounds about right to me..... I think the fuel pressure is supposed to bleed down gradually back out the fuel pump with it not running. The 30 psi with it on sounds right and the 15 psi running is also on the good side. The 15 psi is a constant pressure after the motor has received what it requires to run. The 30 psi is the pressure without the motor taking any before the pump has to cycle off or revert the fuel to the by-pass.
When it is hard to start what does it do?
Does it turn over and over and over......
Does it turn over and you hear slight burst, but not strong enough to fire?
If your rail has the above pressure, check that injectors are clean and free from leaks.
Good luck
Jason

hava life
12-22-2004, 06:58 PM
You might have more help in the gear heads forum.

Oldsquirt
12-22-2004, 07:59 PM
I Have A Tuned Port Motor In A Street Rod And It Loses Fuel Pressure With The Key Off......The Plugs Look Ok Not Rich But Not Too Lean I Think???