PDA

View Full Version : Have you used this Throttle?

Raisin Wake
12-30-2004, 07:01 AM
Has anybody used this throttle? (http://www.cpperformance.com/detail.aspx?ID=3442)
I'm looking for a smoother moving throttle that will allow for small changes in speed (i.e. kids skiing) If you have a better idea, I'd like to hear it.
Thanks all. Happy New Years!!!!

OGShocker
12-30-2004, 07:07 AM
Seems like that one is a SHIFTER only model. Am I wrong?

Raisin Wake
12-30-2004, 07:14 AM
That could be. I guess I should read the header on the page. Oh well. I'm looking a smooth throttle that will move through the throttle range in a manner that allows for small speed adjustments. Am I dreaming here? My old inboard had a very smooth throttle. Is there something about I/O's that doesn't allow this? I'm a I/O newb. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.

Havasu Hangin'
12-30-2004, 07:16 AM
What kind do you have now?

Raisin Wake
12-30-2004, 07:24 AM
What kind do you have now?
It's the original throttle. I don't have a picture, but, it's more like this one. (http://www.overtons.com/cgi-bin/overtons/detail/pdetail2.cgi?r=detail_view&item_num=37471)
It's way to "Bayliner" for me.

Havasu Hangin'
12-30-2004, 07:33 AM
Are you using all the throw?

Raisin Wake
12-30-2004, 07:39 AM
Are you using all the throw?
Yes. But when I'm skiing my kids, I use just a little bit. That's the problem. They don't ski fast so they just need a bit of throttle. It's hard to dial it in.

Havasu Hangin'
12-30-2004, 07:45 AM
I think the problem is that almost any throttle will have the same amount of throw (it has to open the carb butterflies the same amount).
However, your current one probably has the shifter built in, so the first part of the throw is actually used shifting the drive into gear.
If that is the case, I'd look for a dual (offshore style) shifter- that may be the feel you are looking for?

kevnmcd
12-30-2004, 07:55 AM