PDA

View Full Version : Torque vs. Horsepower

Garucci
01-13-2005, 10:19 PM
Hey guys I am new to all this v-drive stuff but I am loving every bit about it!! My questions for someone is-- I have a 74 Sanger Flatbottom with a BBC 496 with 1.22 gears. I am being told that with all the torque my motor has is that I should put more gear into my box. How much gear would you try to start with?
And why I say sacrifice horsepower is because i am looking at putting a new cam shaft that will raise my torque even more and lower my horsepower.
Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks

Kindsvater Flat
01-13-2005, 10:43 PM
Mr T on the boards has a brother that has a white sanger flat bottom. He also runs a big block chevy in his with 22% gears. Now if you ask him he will tell you it turns 7500 rpm at 120 but ..... thats really another story in itself.
What rpm are you turning? What prop? More info on the motor? What do you want to do with it?

Garucci
01-13-2005, 11:10 PM
I am running a 11.25x16 meikens prop. brodix alum heads, tunnel ram, two holley 750's, lunatti roller cam-.312,.320,.722,.722---the boat only pulls to 5500 rpm and it is running 84 mph. I am looking a either putting gears to slow my rpm's of the motor alittle bit and spin the prop faster, or changing out the prop?? The cam in the motor now for what i can figure off of desk top dyno isnt even in the power band of the cam until 7500 rpm, and tops out at 5500 rpm on the torque. So that is why i thought about putting a cam that will be more torque and less horsepower on the top end.
I am wanting to go as fast as this boat will go without supercharging it. I just feel that the boat has alot more potential.
Thanks for any input

Kindsvater Flat
01-13-2005, 11:21 PM
Go to an 18 gear... less pitch. Get your motor in the top rpm range.

BGMAN203
01-13-2005, 11:25 PM
Might even go to a 15% gear.

Garucci
01-13-2005, 11:41 PM