PDA

View Full Version : New Guy

CoastGuardSteve
06-09-2001, 07:05 PM
I am fairly new to the world of Jetboats in the respect that I have never owned a boat. I am preparing to make that giant leap of faith and purchase my first Jetboat. I am looking for a boat that will suit my needs, or wishes/desires, and hope to tap some of the knowledge that appears to be available here. I will be using the boat to pull the usual toys...skier, knee-board, inner-tube...
I am interested in a nice mini-daycruiser in the $5-6K range. My preference for power is BBC, plenty and fairly cheap parts, and a jet manufactured by...??? Here is my big question...What manufacturer should I be looking for in a jet? I have read the postings that compare and discuss the Berkley JC & JG. What is the difference? How will it affect me and my boat? I need help....PLEASE.

Bubbledeck
06-09-2001, 09:32 PM
CoastGuardSteve I would look for a Berkley mainly for the reasons you gave for wanting a BBC. I've had my jet boat (had a pontoon before)for 4 years now, the first 2 years I never knew I had JC and the last 2 years I haven't cared. I think a mini cruiser in that price range is a good choice, but that's just me. I would worry about the condition of the boat, motor, pump, and trailer. Whether it has a JC or a JG would be the last thing on my mind. If I found a nice boat at a good price even if it had a Ford I'd buy it. I have a Ford in my boat and I can't tell you how much parts cost because I haven't needed any ;-)