PDA

View Full Version : Did I make the right decision?? [long]

Perfect Mixer
01-14-2005, 08:45 PM
I really want an HTM SR-24, but the wife talked me into an Advantage 28 party cat. Not sure if I made the right decision though. Back in August of last year she gave the green light on a new boat. She told me "just get whatever you want". I've been drooling over the HTM for at least 4 years now. We went to the Long Beach boat show and my decision about deck boat vs sport boat was swayed by talking to the people at Magic. I had no idea about the insurance cost on sports boats (I know, CLUELESS!) and decided to go with a deck boat (give me a break, I'm new here). After spending a couple of hours looking over the offerings at Long Beach I put the order on an Advantage. Well, fast forward to today, I get a call from Dorian at HTM, and he tells me that he's got an insurance co that can insure an SR-24 with a mild 496 HO for less than $2K per year. I've already written the build check ($7900) to advantage, but really want the HTM. Besides, she told me whatever "I" want. I just don't know what to do. The only reason I got the advantage was the insurance cost and my wifeÂ’s push to get a deck boat instead of what I really want. I'm I doing the right thing??? I know that everyone has their favorite, I just like the HTM a lot!

dicudmore
01-14-2005, 08:48 PM
mmm tough call. HTM is a love-it or hate-it thing....
I love the ride of a cat, but I'm thinking of a deck myself now it seems like everytime we go out I'm looking for more space....

HOOTER SLED-
01-14-2005, 08:50 PM
SO get an HTM deckboat knucklehead!!! ;)

Perfect Mixer
01-14-2005, 08:52 PM
SO get an HTM deckboat knucklehead!!! ;)
She didn't like it. The seats in the front where too low.

Kilrtoy
01-14-2005, 08:57 PM
Only you can answer the question, We think the Deck boat is sweet, but that is us, NOT YOU. But as far as the price for that insurance with a MILD 496, YEAH, good luck on that in a 24' boat.