PDA

View Full Version : Starting engine after sitting over winter.

1978 Rogers
02-08-2005, 03:52 PM
What should be the procedure for starting my boat's engine after sitting for the winter (since October)? How do I minimize dry start damage? Fuel stabalizer has been added, fogging oil has beed squirted in cylinders and down carb.

Danhercules
02-08-2005, 03:54 PM
I think your gonna be fine. If your are really anal, I would pull the dist and prime the oil pump. But as I said, I think your fine to start it as it is.

1978 Rogers
02-08-2005, 04:08 PM
How do you prime the oil pump? I'm not a mechanic.

BrendellaJet
02-08-2005, 04:23 PM
Unless you want to learn how to yank the distributor/re-install and Time the motor, leave it as is and turn the key.
It isn't hard to do, just need a timing light and you can probably rent the priming tool at the local auto parts store...

Danhercules
02-08-2005, 05:32 PM
Accually, you can buy it, 15 bucks for mine.
you have to take out the dist, but mark where it is first, rotor and the housing, When the dist is out, look at the bottom of the shaft and gear, there is a hex, that hex drives the oil pump. The tool looks like a long socket extenion, not as thinck, with the hex on the other end. Ya put it in a drill and pull the trigger the direction that the dist spins. You can take off your oil fill on the valve cover and see the oil getting spread all over. Then put the dist back in. Should only take bout 1/2 hr.

flat broke
02-08-2005, 05:54 PM
Just to clarify what Dan is saying, you need to mark the distributor when the piston in the number 1 cylinder is at Top Dead Center before you start doing anything. Honestly, if you're not mechanically inclined and the boat ran to your liking when you put it away, just make sure there is fresh gas in the float bowls of the carb, and that the battery is toped off, and she should fire up as normal when you start her.
Chris

LakesOnly
02-08-2005, 06:37 PM
Rogers,