PDA

View Full Version : Newbie ?, swamping?

dregsz
02-28-2005, 11:26 PM
Hi, Sorry I'm a newbie,
I'm looking into getting a jet next month for boating on the Wilamette and Columbia, moving up to Portland.
I've never had a small boat. Is swamping a real concern for low freeboard, 70s style jet boats?
Sorry, I had to ask
Evan

victorfb
03-01-2005, 12:19 AM
swamping is a consern on any boat, and especially low freeboard boats. but as long as you know that and take the time to learn how to drive it you should have no problem. just remember you are responsible for your passengers aswell, so make sure you make good decisions on who and how many ride in your boat.
and welcome to the boards. its a fun friendly place and informative. :D

Danhercules
03-01-2005, 07:41 AM
Be alert. Whan just kicking back and floating, you have to watch other boats.
I have noticed other bigger boats slow down when they get close to me, I think they are trying to be nice,(or lookin at my boat!:shift:) , but the wake gets bigger. I was almost swamped when a 26+ boat made a u turn behind me. I was not even in the drivers seat, I was on the bow with my wife ( :supp: ) and I told her to hold on and I started the boat, drving from the bow. It was close then, I took on a lot of water. Needless to say, i was a little pissed, I yelled at the guy, and he had an attitude, untill he relized what he did, then said sorry.

roostwear
03-01-2005, 07:48 AM
Listen to Dan.... he knows about swamping.

BrendellaJet
03-01-2005, 08:01 AM
Be alert. Whan just kicking back and floating, you have to watch other boats.