PDA

View Full Version : Duramx Oil Question

OutCole'd
03-12-2005, 10:45 AM
Do you use any special motor oil?

Lightning
03-12-2005, 11:16 AM
DELO400 or Rotella-T
Diesel requires different oil. I'm sure Jordy will interject with the correct specifications.

OutCole'd
03-12-2005, 11:30 AM
Just curious. My first oil change on my truck was $38.00 from Jiffy Lube. Took into another shop today and they charged about $90.00. :jawdrop: I figured they were riping me off. I guess jiffy lube screwed up.
I never knew Deisels used special motor oil. When I was a tech for Toyota in the 90's, everything got the same stuff.

Kachina26
03-12-2005, 12:45 PM
Just curious. My first oil change on my truck was $38.00 from Jiffy Lube. Took into another shop today and they charged about $90.00. :jawdrop: I figured they were riping me off. I guess jiffy lube screwed up.
I never knew Deisels used special motor oil. When I was a tech for Toyota in the 90's, everything got the same stuff.
I hope J lube only screwed up on the price!!! Don't forget to service the external trans filter if you haven't already done so.

OutCole'd
03-12-2005, 12:56 PM
I hope J lube only screwed up on the price!!! Don't forget to service the external trans filter if you haven't already done so.
Me too. That was from the last oil change to now and nothing went wrong, so I hope all is fine. What can happen if they put in the wrong oil? Any long term effects? I think they just put in the regular Quaker state.
How often are you supposed to service the external tranny filter?
My truck has to go back to the dealer on Monday anyways for the check engine light on. Also my power steering does not work at idle most of the time.

Kachina26
03-12-2005, 12:59 PM
Me too. That was from the last oil change to now and nothing went wrong, so I hope all is fine. What can happen if they put in the wrong oil? Any long term effects? I think they just put in the regular Quaker state.