PDA

View Full Version : What can make a sharper turn?

SPECTRA77
04-05-2005, 08:02 PM
I had a discussion with a freind, he said that a tournament ski boat (Ski Nautigue) could make a faster turn than an I.O. of the same length.
I said that a I.O. could because the outdrive was turning, and a direct drive only the rudder was turning.
What do you think???

Havasu Hangin'
04-05-2005, 08:05 PM
Tournament boats have a fin on the bottom that allows them to turn on a dime.

XtrmWakeborder
04-05-2005, 08:12 PM
Deffinately a tourny boat..ive seen a video of one turning inside of a a swimming pool!

HEDJUG
04-06-2005, 07:51 AM
I have a 18 I/O and I have a buddy with a 18' Mastercraft. The I/O will turn better at idle speeds, but the Mastercraft with its skegs whoops it at higher speeds. It will turn 3x faster & not loose much speed.

dicudmore
04-06-2005, 07:57 AM
agreed....those tourney boats can u-turn like no others :D
they get a lot of practice going back for the victim on the wake-board

MRS FLYIN VEE
04-06-2005, 08:00 AM
I say Mr V .. he makes a great U turn in the sheets. :D :D

Racer277
04-06-2005, 08:17 AM
I say Mr V .. he makes a great U turn in the sheets. :D :D
Mrs. Vee, you made me laugh on a shitty morning!
Thanks! :D :D :D

MRS FLYIN VEE
04-06-2005, 08:18 AM
Mrs. Vee, you made me laugh on a shitty morning!
Thanks! :D :D :D
LOL!! your welcome honey.. :D

RiverDave
04-06-2005, 08:23 AM
I had a discussion with a freind, he said that a tournament ski boat (Ski Nautigue) could make a faster turn than an I.O. of the same length.
I said that a I.O. could because the outdrive was turning, and a direct drive only the rudder was turning.
What do you think???
Tourny boat hands down. Some of the older ones (pre step bottoms and funky designs) You can actually spin in their own wake like a sea doo. ;)
RD

deltarat
04-06-2005, 09:27 AM
I can tell you from experince my buddies Stoker can turn sharper and at a higher rate of speed than most comp boats.

jackpunx