PDA

View Full Version : stupid question

bruddah
04-07-2005, 10:29 PM
so im fairly new to jet boats and i know there is a small area between in gear and neutral. but it seems liek my boat always seems to be in gear when i start it even tho it is in the middle position. it is a 21' hawaiian 454 with berkeley jet. i know its not very much info and i was just wondering if this is normal or if its more of a simple fix. any imput is much appreciated. thanks -lance

Scape Goat
04-07-2005, 10:48 PM
you have to play with it to find the nuetral spot, on a jet it is mostly foward and reverse. there is no nuetral unless you shut it off

LVjetboy
04-07-2005, 11:51 PM
No gears either so don't talk gears. That's clunky old science as in i/o. Jets are WAY better for dock maneuvers trust me, I have both.
It's a jet deflector that directs water forward, backward or some balanced combo of the two. Like a thrust reverser on a jet engine only variable. The position of your shifter is not as important as how that position affects the jet deflector. Depends on rigging. Find the shifter's neutral and be happy.
If instead you'd only be happy with neutral and a shifter straight up there's a simple solution...adjust the linkages.
With a jet deflector (no gears) you can turn you jet with ease at the dock. No clunking gears into forward or reverse or delayed reaction or concern with rpm. You can spin your jet on a dime, impress onlookers unlike clunky gear drives. And yes you can easily achieve neutral once you get used to the shifter.
Learn jets and enjoy.
jer

bruddah
04-08-2005, 06:19 AM
thank you. sorry for using the term "gears" i konw there is none just bad termonology. so if i start in a little bit of the reverse or forwars it is not a big deal?

1HOTGMCJET
04-08-2005, 06:36 AM
thank you. sorry for using the term "gears" i konw there is none just bad termonology. so if i start in a little bit of the reverse or forwars it is not a big deal?