PDA

View Full Version : Witchcraft boat

Witchcraft
05-31-2001, 08:16 PM
I bought a 18' 1976 Witchcraft boat this past winter. It has 455 olds with a Jacuzzi yJ Jet. Motor runs good (all stock) except headers. Turns well over 5400 RPM. Runs around 50+ mph. How do I tell if it is a worn pump or the impeller that allows more RPM? There is no place diverter or loader grate. I am new to Jet Boating, would either of this items help? Does anybody know anything about Witchcraft boats?

montrone
06-01-2001, 08:51 AM
I used to have a 21 Witchcraft with an Outboard 225 hp black max this screamed 75+, no jack plate or any thing good, just ss prop.
but from what i herd it tends to get stress crack's in the back corners of the boat, this could be due to to much power the boat can't handle, or to much hard bouncing, i had crack's bad on the back of mine.
I recently purchased a 25 Sleekcraft with a olds 455 bored .60, and it too has the Jacuzzi 12YJ kit pump.
I called American Turbine http://www.americanturbine.com/
talked wiht (Ron) and asked him how well would this pump handle, he said, just because you got the kit it should perform pretty good. but not 100% like the turbines, he said this pump (Jacuzzi) with out kit is not all that great.
I am not sure if they make the place diverter for our pumps yet, when i e-mailed place diverter.com and asked them, they mentioned they don't have any for this pump. i sure someone does, but that's what they told me? and from what i herd, yes it should help with performance the place diverter.
this is my 1st time to owning a jet boat.
also what kind of heads do you have on your olds? i just purchased C heads off ebay.com and was told form the person i brought them from, and the olds website, these are the heads to have on this kind of engine the best. i use to have J heads which are somged heads and they suck.