PDA

View Full Version : Air tool Q

Tom Brown
05-13-2005, 11:22 AM
This may not be on topic but I'd like to solicit the opinion of some of you mechanical types. I last worked in a machine/welding shop about 20 years ago so I may not be completely current. :D
As a network engineer, I find that I don't use my pneumatic tools a lot so they remain in pretty good shape. :D
Back when I got my hands dirty for a living, Chicago Pneumatic was a well respected brand of pneumatic tools. At least, with the crowd I hung with.
Is CP still a respected brand? I need to replace my dual action sander and want something decent but I don't want to pay huge money for SnapOn. My jobber has IR and a bunch of other brands but CP is the brand I recognized as the best, drawing from my obsolete pneumatic tool knowledge.
Thanks,
Tom :)

djunkie
05-13-2005, 11:25 AM
IMO I would choose the IR air products over the NEW cp stuff. I do have some old cp stuff that is still working great. But if I'm gonna buy new I'll usally jump on the better stuff. Snap-on, Mac, IR. Not saying CP is bad, but I've had good luck with the others so I'll stick with them.

CARLSON-JET
05-13-2005, 11:33 AM
the new CP tools are made overseas.

Tom Brown
05-13-2005, 12:56 PM
Thanks, gents. :)
I just picked up an IR 4151. :cool:

Racer277
05-13-2005, 01:00 PM
Thanks, gents. :)
I just picked up an IR 4151. :cool:
So...your snap-on guy is in the parking lot, showing you the coolest stuff....
SO: This hear is the greatest, it's the IR4151...
TB: Hold on, let me go ask my buddies...they're experts...
1.5 hours later...
TB: I'll take it, they say it's great....
Very cool Tom, I like it.... :cool:

Tom Brown
05-13-2005, 01:30 PM
Actually, it's not far from that.
There is a tool wholesaler a couple of blocks from where I work. As it happens, I know the owner pretty well and he takes good care of me.
... so I solicited some advice from you gents, went over during my afternoon coffee break, and picked up the tool.