PDA

View Full Version : Giving my notice Monday.......

HP350SC
05-20-2005, 01:53 PM
No reason to post this other than I'm a little nervous about a job change.
Well, as a Ford dealership technician I am throwing in the towel. Warranty times have been slashed over the last several years, more and more paperwork heaped on, less and less work coming in. Mid- 90's was the glory days for me, during summer had 4 stalls wide with 3 cars deep and turning 25 hrs. day several months consistently. Now 35-80 hrs. in half a month(too many techs., there are 26 in our shop)
25 yrs. experience, 10 years at current job, working for 22% of the labor rate. Used to be 50% when I got into this business! Not whining, just giving facts. New job is at a place called Ron Tonkin Gran Turismo. They are the local Ferrari, Maserati, Lamborghini and Alfa Romeo service dept.
$4 more per hr. w/base guarantee of 8 hrs. day sounds good right now.
Should be some good experience working on these high end motors and suspensions. Looking forward to a change of pace. :coffeycup

NashvilleBound
05-20-2005, 01:54 PM
When are they changing the Super Duty bodystyle....I need a new truck....
and good luck with the move.

GHTRIM
05-20-2005, 02:00 PM
Good luck with the new job... Does Ferrari make a vehicle that can tow my boat? :rolleyes:

HCS
05-20-2005, 02:01 PM
Good for you. Hope it works out.
Sounds like another one of us stuck in this sucking bussiness.
I should have never listen to my x-wifes freind 20 years ago. I wouldn't be stuck either.
But if you want to move to Northern Calif and work for Ford let me know.

Dribble
05-20-2005, 02:02 PM
If you did 25 hrs a day here in Nor cal you would get rich. That would be about $180,000 a year here.

HP350SC
05-20-2005, 02:03 PM
When are they changing the Super Duty bodystyle....I need a new truck....
and good luck with the move.