PDA

View Full Version : Wedges...

SHIFTY
04-28-2006, 08:52 AM
GONNA INSTALL SOME WEDGES TOMORROW. I HAVE THE STUD KIT, GONNA PICK UP SOME ANTI-SEIZE, AND WHATEVER ELSE I MIGHT NEED. I HAVE A TURNBUCKLE TYPE SET-UP, AND I'm NOT SURE IF IT WILL ADJUST FAR ENOUGH OUT TO PUT THE WEDGES IN (SEE BELOW). ANYBODY HAVE ANY TIPS FOR ME, I've NEVER DONE THIS BEFORE...
http://www.***boat.com/image_center/data/520/1873PUI.jpg

Jetdriver
04-28-2006, 08:55 AM
Heres a tip! DONT **** IT UP!!!!!!! :D

SHIFTY
04-28-2006, 08:57 AM
Get Your Ass To My House And F*** It Up Yourself...

SHIFTY
04-28-2006, 09:28 AM
COME ON, YOU JACKASSES :mad:

396_WAYS_TO_SPIT
04-28-2006, 07:41 PM
How much wedge are you installing? Are you installing it up or down? Can you rotate that piece that bolts to the actual plate?
Dont use lock nut because they have a tendacy to pull the stud out. Use regular stainless nuts. If you have the studs that have the hex cut out of the middle then you can use a locknut. It will be more work to remove the nuts in the future if you do.
Answer those questions and we can go from there;)

RCB19
04-28-2006, 10:45 PM
A good starting point is 4* up to keel on the plate. Lay a straight edge on the bottom of the plate and measure the distance between the bottom edge of the droop and the straight edge. Keep this measurement between 3/4 to 1/2 inch. You don't want your hardware dragging in the water. When you change your shoe depth, plate angle and your nozzle angle with wedges these measurements will change. Keep that in mind. That steering setup looks a little scarry. :2purples:

SHIFTY
04-29-2006, 05:10 AM