PDA

View Full Version : How old before you take him out on the boat?

sunj_e
05-31-2005, 01:45 PM
So a question for you boating gurus out there. I have been boating for only a couple of years and have 6 year old girl and my wife which we go out all the time. We just had a boy last week and the question came up. How Old before the baby can start joining us on the boat? I know I can tool around with him in the no-wake zones, but how old were your kids before you started taking them out?

Havasu_Dreamin
05-31-2005, 01:47 PM
I was about 9 months old for my first trip.

lucky
05-31-2005, 01:49 PM
around a 18 months

H20 Toie
6 months and she slept most of the time

cole13
Congrats on the new addition!! My wife and I are expecting twins here in a month or so. We were talking about the same thing. Last year a friend of ours took thier 3 month old out with no problems! Lots of sunscreen and stayed under the canopy all day. She did really good.

28Prowler525
05-31-2005, 01:53 PM
We had our first out @ 5 months. Our friends had their 2nd and 3rd out @ about 2 months. It also depends where you boat. If it is hot you need to wait until they are 5-6 months, because their little bodies won't regulate the heat like ours do. You also can't put sun tan lotion on the until they are about 6 months old, because it soaks in their skin (this from our doctor).
A good idea would be to wait until they are able to were a life jacket.

HM
05-31-2005, 01:55 PM
So a question for you boating gurus out there. I have been boating for only a couple of years and have 6 year old girl and my wife which we go out all the time. We just had a boy last week and the question came up. How Old before the baby can start joining us on the boat? I know I can tool around with him in the no-wake zones, but how old were your kids before you started taking them out?