PDA

View Full Version : Need Advice

77 Apollo
07-08-2005, 08:31 AM
Hi, I'm new to posting here on the forum. I have been reading for a few weeks now and love the site. I've had a 1977 Apollo Jet (Cabot, AR) for about 3 years. I was brought up by my dad on jets. He still has his 74 Marlin today and it looks like it did new. Anyway, the Apollo came with a 455, which has just blown. Sounds like this is a usual occurance. I'm not a mechanic, so I had a guy pull the motor and he tells me it's completely worn out. Id like to have it rebuilt and add some performance modifications such as ported heads, higher perf cam, etc. He tells me this will cost about 4 grand. After reading about Oldsmobiles, Im not sure I want to do this. My question is, how much would it cost me to go to a 454? I would want something with some modifications, but not a racer and ready to drop in the boat and go. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

FASTRAT
07-08-2005, 09:11 AM
if it were me...i would ck into a BBC 454 crate motor long block...then u could add the manif & carb & ign of ur choice & maybe a cam...i think the new crate mtrs come with a roller set-up...it might run u a bit over $4k...but...it will give u splendid performance & longevity...i know of a few people on here that have these set-ups & luv them...they also can help u with manif--carb--ign set-ups & anything else u will need for the chng over...just ask
fastrat

Tim_T
07-08-2005, 11:35 AM
I still have my 455 if you need one. i think you called me when it was on ebay. Give me a call and we can probably work something out. 361-343-1773
Tim

76ANTHONY
07-08-2005, 12:05 PM
when i built my 455 i didnt even come close to 4 grand, but i did the work myself. yes a 454 is a little over 4 grand but a very good engine. what blew on the engine or did the shop tell you? you can get alot of things for 4 grand. just depends on what you want to do with it.; :idea: :clover:

77 Apollo
07-08-2005, 12:33 PM