PDA

View Full Version : Timing Light

Cole Sanger
07-10-2005, 08:35 AM
What should I look for when buying a timing light? Anyone have any suggestions on a good brand? I am not a mechanic, but I would like to buy one once, not two or three times. I was looking at a couple on Summit. One was the Equus Products Digital Timing Light for $110, and the other was the Equus Products Pro Timing Light for $200. I am thinking $200 is too much for my needs, unless it is worth it. The only difference I see it them is that the Pro model has a backlit display, displays the dwell reading, displays the volt reading, and works on "DIS" ignitions (what is a DIS ignition?). Are these features worth the extra $90? Do I even need the $110 model? I am looking for something that will last a long time, and work on multiple applications. Thanks for the help.

Moneypitt
07-10-2005, 09:03 AM
Which ever you choose, make sure it has the dial back feature. A million dollar timing light is only as good as the accuracy of the timing pointer to actual TDC. Very few stock pointer/scales are dead on, so the timing light is only to get close, and use the setting as a baseline. So, a good quality light, craftsman, snap on, or several others with the "dial back" feature work fine. I wouldn't go nuts for your purpose...........Oh yeah, inductive, the type that just clip over the wire is also handy..........MP

Hallett19
07-10-2005, 09:27 AM
Go for the Craftsman with the dial. Its extremley accurate and very affordable, as well as durable :wink:

victorfb
07-10-2005, 10:16 AM
the craftsman is the choice of so many. this topic has been discussed before and most seem to go with the craftsman. i have one and it works great.

JetBoatRich
07-10-2005, 02:19 PM
the craftsman is the choice of so many. this topic has been discussed before and most seem to go with the craftsman. i have one and it works great.
Picked one up two weeks ago :D I believe it was around $75

GofastRacer
07-10-2005, 06:08 PM