PDA

View Full Version : Factors Affecting Speed on the water....

OliverM5
07-21-2005, 02:32 PM
I'm Fairly new to the boating thing (used to drag racing, etc) and wanted to know the effect of the following factors when considering top speed (23' Scarab with 710 hp blown motor);
1) Weight - How does every 100 pounds added effect top speed?
2) Air Temp - How does every 10 degrees increase effect top speed?
3) Water conditions - Does smooth glass or slight chop give you best top speed?
What do you think I should be running with this power setup? Hull weighs about 3740 with motor.......

jackpunx
07-21-2005, 02:35 PM
I'm Fairly new to the boating thing (used to drag racing, etc) and wanted to know the effect of the following factors when considering top speed (23' Scarab with 710 hp blown motor);
2) Temp - How does every 10 degrees increase effect top speed?
What do you think I should be running with this power setup? Hull weighs about 3740 with motor.......
Wieght.. it depends on where it is in the boat.. the further up to the front of the boat.. (stereo in bow) it will decrease the boats performance
Temp---10MPH
Water conditions --- Smooth water sux.. need a little bit of chop to break it up... 6"-1' maybe a little more in your boat..
Welcome :D

Tom Brown
07-21-2005, 02:36 PM
2) Temp - How does every 10 degrees increase effect top speed?
Let's see....
1) Every 100 lbs of additional weight will slow the boat down
2) Every 10 degrees increase in ambient temperature will reduce the engine's ability to produce power
3) The less water in contact with the boat, the less friction so... a high frequency, low chop will yield the best top speed.
... a decent power and ground wire from your two new Oddesy 1800s to your amps.
Did I get it right? :confused:

OliverM5
07-21-2005, 02:37 PM
Wieght.. it depends on where it is in the boat.. the further up to the front of the boat.. (stereo in bow) it will decrease the boats performance
Temp---10MPH