PDA

View Full Version : Lame Question....

stashtrey
07-23-2005, 12:05 PM
Okay... I'm a complete jet newb.
Does a typical Jet boat have a neutral? or is it always in 'gear'?
If it doesn't have a neutral, how do you overcome this at the dock/launch?
I bought a jet last weekend and will be picking it up next weekend and all these questions are now entering my mind.
/former I/O owner

xs ultra
07-23-2005, 12:18 PM
half way in forward and half way in to reverse = neutral
welcome to the jet world.

stashtrey
07-23-2005, 12:20 PM
Thanks for the reply... let me make sure I understand...
There is no neutral..... just either forward or reverse in idle?

xs ultra
07-23-2005, 12:26 PM
your neutral is half way in between.
jets are tricky at the docks it will take some practice

stashtrey
07-23-2005, 12:29 PM
Thanks! I'll be sure to go to the less crowded launch so I don't cause any problems.
I appreciate your time!

Oldsquirt
07-23-2005, 12:30 PM
If the engine is running the pump is turning. They are directly coupled.
Neutral is just a balance between forward thrust and reverse thrust.

Nucking futs
07-23-2005, 12:34 PM
IMO jets are alot easier to manuver (sp) at docks and such.
But hey im a southwind guy, what do I know............ :D

lucky
07-23-2005, 12:35 PM
and the gas is not your friend at the dock ! be very liberal with it - :D I always find it best to pick a spot and coast as close - then use paddle -

stashtrey
07-23-2005, 12:39 PM
This should make my first trip to the river interesting. I'll pick a dock that is down current.... I'm sure I'll be a pro in no time. There is no rudder on the jet, so that should also make it interesting.
Thanks for all the info, I really appreciate it!!

Keithb87
07-23-2005, 12:43 PM
And they don't steer real well at low speeds.. :sqeyes:

stashtrey
07-23-2005, 12:45 PM
here are a few pics of the boat i picked up.... can't wait to get it home!!
http://www.hostimage.net/images/stashtrey/b3.jpg