07-25-2005, 01:26 PM
Just tore the blower motor down.
#1 wiped extreme with material hanging out the sides
#2 no copper showing slight pitting
#3 same as #2
#4 spun
#5 wiped
Could too tight of a belt cause this?
Do you need to set kevlar belts looser, tighter or the same as a standard belt?
It's a 500CI BBC Mark IV running 11 to 12 #'s boost.

steelcomp
07-25-2005, 01:36 PM
what were your clearances?

wsuwrhr
07-25-2005, 01:50 PM
sounds like too tight of clearances, low oil pressure or loss of oil pressure.
Brian
I have no experience with a blower motor.

Infomaniac
07-25-2005, 08:12 PM
Yea what they said. Did you "set" the rear main? end clearance?

Fiat48
07-25-2005, 08:53 PM
Blower belts should all have about 3/4 inch of play in them regardless of material the belt is made out of. That is when the engine is hot. You don't want that belt pulling on the crank. If it's too loose then it can walk over a tooth (1/2" & 8mm) and bend the crank. Always have to keep an eye on the belt tightness between hot and cold.
Check the crank for straightness. Generally too tight a belt works on #2 main bearing.
As to what happened could be a world of things. This is how BBC die...by the mains. And usually spin #4.
Bent or cracked crank.
Line hone was never straight to begin with.
Not enough clearance. At least .003 and I like looser for flexy cranks.
Too much HP for the strength of the crank (crank flex)
Oil intersection holes not completly drilled through (I have seen that).
Any other oil pressure problem. When the oil wedge is lost for whatever reason then contact occurs. When that happens even for a millisecond the crank grabs that bearing and the bearing shrinks around the crank. Game over.
Just to sum it up..you can get away with a lot till the blower goes on.

78Eliminator
07-25-2005, 10:23 PM
Brad, what crank was in there?

Kurtis500
07-25-2005, 10:35 PM