PDA

View Full Version : A True American Lost in Iraq-Not Boat Related

Jdbuck
05-04-2006, 09:49 AM
I don't post here much; however, I felt compelled to post this. I think it is very moving and contains a great message.
I am a cop and one of my guys is over fighting in Iraq and he wrote this below. You would never hear about this from the media, but this is straight from a man who there day in and day out:
From a Soldier on the ground:
It was a bad day yesterday in Ramadi. I have attempted to put my thoughts into words below and into the attachment, but have likely failed in conveying the raw emotion we are all feeling right now. Please disseminate to all and I will write again as time permits.
Brother in Arms
May 3, 2006
I lost a brother today. Marine Corps Captain Brian S. Letendre died in a well coordinated insurgent attack conducted against one of our strongpoints here in Ramadi, Iraq. A U.S. soldier was also killed and another fellow Marine was wounded in the same assault. As a police officer and Marine, I’ve experienced death before, but this one hit especially hard. Brian and I are part of an eleven-man team assigned as advisors to an Iraqi infantry battalion here in Ramadi. I was on the three vehicle gun truck convoy that took him to the strongpoint where he was to begin operations with one of the Iraqi battalion’s infantry companies. Prior to leaving Brian at the strongpoint, I shook his hand and told him to keep his head down. Brian laughed and said he had to, “because I owed him.” Brian was a college wrestler and managed to pin me the last time we practiced ground fighting. It was our running joke that I would one day return the favor. Brian will never grapple again. Nor will he be there to see his three-year-old son, Dillon, wrestle or play his favorite sport, soccer.