PDA

View Full Version : MSD 6AL vs 6M

JIMS
05-02-2002, 07:26 PM
HEY WHATS THE DEAL ON MSD BOXES IS THERE REALLY A DIFFERENCE BETWEEN 6AL AND 6M I KNOW THAT THE A STANDS FOR AUTOMOTIVE AND THE M STANDS FOR MARINE BUT OTHER THAN WEATHER PACK CONNECTIONS AND BAKE-O-LITE WHAT'S THE DIFFERENCE IS ANY ONE USING THE 6AL AND HAVE YOU HAD ANY PERFORMANCE ISSUES OR FAILURE BECAUSE OF MOISTURE ?

JETBOAT BRIAN
05-02-2002, 07:32 PM
I have been using a 6al box on my jet for 4 yrs with msd billet dist. not one problem yet also it has a built in rev limiter,where the marine box requires you to buy another box for a limiter!

shockwaveharry
05-02-2002, 08:29 PM
If you burn your boat down and it turns out to be because of a non-marine approved part, you'll have a hard time getting a check from your insurance company. Other than that I believe they have the same internal gadgets. 6m = 6a

Craig
05-03-2002, 03:49 AM
That's pretty much the same thing the rep at the races working the MSD trailer said.
Craig

Hotcrusader76
05-03-2002, 06:39 AM
The only major differences between the two are the internal circuit board coatings. The 6M is coated internaly and sealed for protection against the harsh MARINE enviroment of salty moist air. Your 6A should suffice for any lake/river water use. Also the silicon layer inside helps protect the transitors from vibration, it's sort of a dampner. But if your 6A is mounted on the back transom, the vibration is less harsh then it is from where you sit in the front.
Also noted that the 6M is somewhat case protected from the enclosed enviroment it might see in a hatch enclosed engine bay, where fumes could pose a fire hazard.