PDA

View Full Version : Bravo III

cyclone
08-25-2005, 11:21 AM
A friend is buying a boat thats got a bravo III drive with a dual prop setup. Anyone know the performance potential of this drive? Its' got a 502 chevy in it and he's looking to bump the motor up to 650hp and wanted to know if the drive would take it.
are there any upgrades available for this drive also?
thanks.

Party Cat
08-25-2005, 12:10 PM
A friend is buying a boat thats got a bravo III drive with a dual prop setup. Anyone know the performance potential of this drive? Its' got a 502 chevy in it and he's looking to bump the motor up to 650hp and wanted to know if the drive would take it.
are there any upgrades available for this drive also?
thanks.
I've been running a 628hp/652tq 509 for the past 2 years with a Bravo III....so far....no problems....but then I don't slam the throttle either...ease in to the power....
Mercury now makes a Bravo 3x....I heard that Rob at Quality Performance has done some upgrades to the older ones to make em like the new 3x's

wiggler
08-25-2005, 02:19 PM
I have been running a stock Merc 496 Mag with Bravo III, S.S. Props at 28 pitch. I have had no problems. Although I have been hesitant to "build up" because I am afraid that I might tweek the prop shaft. I guess that is why so many owners use an alpha or brvo I drive.

Havasu Hangin'
08-25-2005, 06:49 PM
The Bravo 3 is a good drive (hell, anything is better than a jet, though). Just make sure the engine has a good low-RPM idle- that's ALOT of stainless prop to be swinging in-n-out of gear.

Thunderbutt
08-26-2005, 01:14 PM
:hammerhea
Then Am I F---ing up. When I put in the HP500 I also put on a ZX drive, and have the Bravo 3 setting in my shop. Every since I put the combination together I've been having truble getting this thing to get on plane. I did check with BAM to see if my standard Bravo 3 can be converted to a Bravo 3X and they said no. What RPM's do you turn? My idle is 800.

Party Cat
08-26-2005, 02:04 PM