PDA

View Full Version : Now what...? intermittent. power to the dash? What the f#*".

Hollis
07-02-2003, 09:12 AM
I took the boat w/rebuilt 460 to the lake and after a rough start it ran well, shut it off to see if it would restart and it did. I shut it off a second time and loaded some friends and tryed to restart...No F#cking way! No power to the key or dash.I unloaded the boat put it back on the trailer and hauled it to a mechanic. It started!!
How stupid deos that make me look? So I hauled it back to the lake and took a short ride and shut it off. 45 minutes later I had no power to the dash and switch again...What the f#ck is up with this..? Is it possessed? Any thought on this would be really,really appreciated.
I'm going back to sailing.

bordsmnj
07-02-2003, 10:04 AM
since i have a degree from the school of the totaly obvious i feel quailified to state that it's probably a bad conneciton. check the connection at the battery terminal. most of the time the positive lead has a big wire and a little wire. makes sure this "factory" connection isn't corroded. then go to the starter and make sure all three wires are on there good. should have a groung lead that goes to the dash and typically that wire gets spliced to hit the gauges, lights, and whatever else. then there's the starter relay and switch. inspect these also.if you have a fuse box check that all the fuses are in there snug. should also be a lead from the battery to the dash that supplys the power up there. probably goes to the back of the key switch first. lastly make sure that your ground from the battery to the motor is in good shape. when poking around under the dash,etc. good idea to disconnect the battery. some boats are wire a little different than others but these are the places that i had issues with my last boat. i rewired the whole damned thing. i hope you have better luck than that.

spectras only
07-02-2003, 11:07 AM