PDA

View Full Version : cheap speed

Karl
05-21-2002, 11:06 AM
I've got a 21' Chris Craft with a 260/Alpha that does 56mph by the speedometer on what I believe is a stock 350. I am new to the scene and put a set of new Osco manifolds and risers on before I found out about available after market speed stuff. I would like to get input on hp improvement w/o removing my exhaust manifolds (I have thru transom exhaust). What I'm looking for is a cam / intake / ignition combination to maximize hp out of my 350 while using the orig exhaust. Any help or guidance would be cool.
Thx

FastElim900
05-21-2002, 11:40 AM
Karl,
While there will be incremental improvements you can make you must realize that a gasoline reciprocating engine is basically a large air pump. The more air/fuel pumped in and subsequently out of the motor will determine how much power it will make. There isn't any magic. Improve airflow and increased power will result.

crmax
05-21-2002, 06:32 PM
speedos in boats are all most always wrong, buy or borrow a gps write down what your rpms and mph are then come up with a plan ( how much more HP you will need) on how fast you want to go, by doing this you wont spend alot of money and not get where you want to be.

Karl
05-22-2002, 05:41 AM
crmx,
I know this is stretching it, but I'd like to get 65 out of it. I agree with FastElim900 in that more mix through the system results in more hp. I figure a .462in/.477out (lift) roller cam from Comp Cams, a good dual plane intake, and a bigger flame arrestor would give me additional flow, and therefore more power and torque. But how much to expect is another story????? Several companies like Summit or PAW produce automotive "kits" depending on what HP you want and how much you want to spend. Isn't there a company or magazine that has tested similar marine combinations?

69 Elim
05-22-2002, 08:10 AM