PDA

View Full Version : Automotive and Marine Engines?

1973 Hondo
10-08-2002, 12:35 PM
Are they both the exact same, block heads etc? :confused:

powerplay230
10-08-2002, 12:49 PM
Something I recently went through... Replaced a 454 in Bravo setup with a 502 H.O. That came from Scoggins Dickey, what seemed like a bargain quickly turned into one of those things that constantly had the wife saying sell the !?o? thing as is. I'm not an expert (except at breaking stuff) but I believe yes block and heads are the same. Off the top of my head things that will need changing are- intake (if saltwater), starter, flywheel, waterpump, starter, fuel pump (switched fron Mark IV), oil pan& pump, cam possibly to prevent reversion, might be more might be less depending on use and application. My bargain cost me a lot more than I expected... but with a few bolt ons Damn it runs better than the 454/330
Either way good luck and there are a lot of fantastic people on here that will help you with good advice. I would thank Ray but don't think he is on board anymore.
<Still not happy with 13 mph gain...

gnarley
10-08-2002, 01:24 PM
powerplay230:
Still not happy with 13 mph gain...Not happy? What kind of boat is it, how long, what does it weigh & how fast is it now after the changes?

disco_charger
10-08-2002, 01:43 PM
If I had a 13MPH gain, I'd be doing back flips.

powerplay230
10-08-2002, 02:28 PM