PDA

View Full Version : A case of free beer to the guy that........

skeepwerkzaz
08-07-2002, 10:15 PM
Tells me whats wrong with my friggin' boat. Seriously, I am about to suck start a .45 here guys. I have a brand new 468 with a tunnelram, two 660's, a .630 solid cam, donovan gear drive, aluminum heads, and a bunch of other shit that doesn't work. It turns over and ALMOST starts every time but just won't fire. The easy stuff first....yes it is timed right, I verified that both valves are closed on #1 and the piston is at the top of the stroke. The timing is set @ 10 deg. BTDC. It is getting fuel and a spark that you could weld with. I am truely at a loss. Is there some trick to starting a dual carb tunnelrammed engine, or a semi-large cammed engine? This is my first time messing with a large-ish cam and multi-carbs. Come on guys use them knowledge noodles and help a suicidal friend out. No kidding, free beer to the winner. Here is a pic of the setup if it helps.......Thanks ahead of time............................
http://free.***boat.net/gallery/Forum_Graphic_Depot/engine1.JPG

Rexone
08-07-2002, 10:32 PM
The fact that it almost starts points to timing, even though I know you said its' correct. There's only 3 things required to make an engine run (in the most basic terms).. fuel, air (or compression), and spark. You've got fuel you said, appears you've got air, my guess is your spark is just a little off on the timing. A fuel shortage problem could also cause it to "try to start" then not. Probably not much help but it probably something just really simple, that's usually the case when I can't make something work. Good luck

canuck1
08-07-2002, 10:35 PM
cam timing---gear drive check it

skeepwerkzaz
08-07-2002, 10:47 PM