PDA

View Full Version : Intake Manifold Problems - Help!

propless
05-27-2002, 02:45 PM
Out boating this afternoon and started hearing what appeared to be an exhaust gasket giving way (no major deal, but a pain none the less). Upon looking further, it is the exhaust manifold gasket?
I'm no rocket scientist, but in all my years of boating, never have I lost an exhaust manifold gasket and I'm at a lost at what causes the intake manifold gasket to fail.
Three questions:
1. Is this a major issue and should I have a pro replace this and look deeper into the failure?
2. Or is this not that uncommon, and should I be able to replace this? Any torque requirements or what outs that I should avoid?
3. If I mark the distributor before pulling it out, should I not be able to drop it back in without having to reset everything?
Boat was running great, no issues to report. It is an Indmar 454, Edelbrock aluminum manifold w/850 Holley - nothing very fancy.
As always - thanks for the help and comments.

lovemyultra
05-27-2002, 07:12 PM
20 ft lbs on the intake bolts in a specific sequence you can get out of any manual. you should be able to drop the dist back in but it never goes that way just mark the rotor, get it close, and reset the timing to specs no biggie GOOD LUCK DJ

propless
05-27-2002, 07:18 PM
DJ-
Thank you!
Not from Maryland are you?

Tahiti Day Cruiser
06-05-2002, 03:21 PM
Hi propless,