PDA

View Full Version : 455 Engine Problems (Help)

77CobraJet455
10-18-2005, 12:12 PM
I recently purchased a 1977 Cobra Jet with a 455 Olds engine and Jacuzzi jet. The first time I took it out it took in at least a quart of water into the oil. Leaving a very milky color to the oil. I drained it and replaced the oil. Checked clean, Then took it out again to have the oil check milky after the engine was ran for only 10 minutes. I was told that I could have been running to much water the water cooled headers and it was being sucked back in when getting off of the throttle. Could I have not got all of the contaminated oil out from the first time. Or is it most likely a cracked head or blown head gasket. I am a Newbie. Have had the boat for only three weeks.

Sleek-Jet
10-18-2005, 12:57 PM
Intake gasket. Chances are you have one of the steel "Turkey Pan" intake gaskets and they have a habit of leaking badly in jet-boat applications.
You need to pick up a set of Fel-Pro intake gaskets. Most part stores can get them, or you can order them through Summit or Jegs.
I wish I could find my Mondello's catalog (I think the damn thing is in a box somewhere), I could get you the part number. One of the Olds guru's in here should be able to get the part number you need.

Taylorman
10-18-2005, 01:13 PM
Mr. Gasket # 404 or 5846.

Oldsquirt
10-18-2005, 01:13 PM
Not sure Fel-Pro has composition gaskets for the Olds. I do know that Mr. Gasket has two different version, regular and Ultra-seal. Should be available from all online speed shops and through any competent auto parts store.
Questions about your exhaust. Do you have water injected headers or the standard cast aluminum water-cooled through transom logs? If headers, do you have water coming out at idle(shouldn't!) and do you have more than just a mist or fog at higher rpms(again, shouldn't).