PDA

View Full Version : cam question

DogHouse
03-12-2003, 01:43 PM
Need to tap into some cam knowledge:
I've been running a roller cam with a fairly tight lobe separation of 108 deg. Duration is 256/262 @.050, .714/.714 lift. I understand how duration affects the power curve and idle quality, but am less clear on the lobe separation aspect. I know that a smaller angle increases overlap, thus leading to choppier idle and more potential for water reversion in the exhaust. If I want to change to a larger separation of say 114 deg to reduce reversion, is there a rule of thumb as to how much more duration I should run to maintain the same power curve and idle quality (or lack thereof) that I have now?
Thanks in advance for any suggestions!
-brian

LakesOnly
03-12-2003, 02:42 PM
I am running a 108-degree cam, too.
I am by no means a cam expert, but if you ease up on the lobe separation, and then increase duration, aren't you (to some extent) bringing back the very overlap (and reversion) that you tried to eliminate by changing your lobe separation?
Reversion is a problem only at idle...not higher r.p.m.'s. If exhaust reversion (and sucking water in through your exhaust) is why you are considering changing cams, then just run Bassett's stainless steel ball-check T-Valve that kills water flow to the headers at idle and opens up above (maybe) 2000 r.p.m.
If you add too much duration with too wide a lobe separation, you may bend valves with the pistons. This is one reason why valve overlap is also manipulated by way of a narrow lobe separation.
LO
[ March 12, 2003, 02:42 PM: Message edited by: LakesOnly ]

Blown 472
03-13-2003, 06:26 AM
My little knowledge on lobe sep, the wider the better idle you will get do to less dilution of the intake charge.

Craig
03-13-2003, 07:03 AM