PDA

View Full Version : Anyone Like/Dislike Cougar Boats?

Kona Jet
02-08-2002, 10:40 AM
I am looking into cougar boats but was wanting to see what you all had to say about them. Are they good? How is the builder as far as communication? I like thier 27 mtr series. Does anyone know about this hull? Is it a good plainer?
Thank you
Kona Jet

HavasuDreamin'
02-08-2002, 10:54 AM
I have had the chance to drive a 21' MTR with Merc 2.5 power. Excellent boat, fast and stable. Solidly built and comfortable. Very Expensive. I have no experience with the 27' MTR. Good Luck! http://free.***boat.net/ubb/cool.gif
Sorry about the frown, I tried to use a thumbs up. Don't know what happend.
[This message has been edited by HavasuDreamin' (edited February 08, 2002).]

waterbum
02-08-2002, 11:53 AM
Kona,a few years ago,when I was searching for a new cat,I went to New York(Lake Chuitaugua)and test drove a 23MTR.The boat came on plane fast,felt like a magic carpet ride at speed and handled supurbly.This cat leaned into the turns slightly.My only problems were lack of storage,under-deck area finishing was scant(no carpeting overhead)and the interrior left somthing to be desired.Boat was equipped with an HP500 with the flame arrester protruding into the engine hatch cover.The hole for this was cut only about a quarter inch larger than the arrester and the top of the arrester was even with the pad.Seemed somewhat restrictive to me.Also had run of the mill gauges.This boat was used and abbused and they still wanted 60k.You can have one built anyway you want but with everything you add to the base boat,price skyrockets.Nice well built good handleing boat,but in my opinion,way over priced.Hope this helps.Bum

canuck1
02-08-2002, 12:24 PM